Shed size · 240 sq ft
What fits in a 10x24 shed?
A 10x24 shed has 240 sq ft of floor. Drawn to scale with a clear aisle, it holds a lawn tractor, a zero-turn, a snow blower, a wheelbarrow, a workbench, 3 shelving units, and it can take a 42 in lawn tractor if the door is at least 5 ft wide. Kits this size cost about $4,363 in resin or $1,260 in steel at median prices.
A 10x24 is garage territory at 240 sq ft. It holds two machines and a workshop, but it is past every common permit exemption and needs a foundation you plan properly. Below, two common loads are drawn to scale on a 10x24 floor, so you can see what actually fits once you leave yourself a way in.
What fits in a 10x24 shed, drawn to scale
How many of each item fit in a 10x24?
Each row is that item on its own, packed flat on the floor with a clear aisle kept from the door. Hanging bikes and stacking bins beat these numbers; parking a mower across the aisle does not count.
| Item | Fits |
|---|---|
| Riding mower / lawn tractor (42 in deck) | 5 |
| Zero-turn mower (48 to 54 in deck) | 5 |
| Push mower (handle folded) | 12+ |
| Two-stage snow blower | 12+ |
| Wheelbarrow | 12+ |
| Adult bike (on the floor) | 10 |
| Trash or recycling can (96 gal) | 12+ |
| Gas grill (off-season) | 12+ |
| Shelving unit (18 x 48 in) | 12+ |
| Workbench (2 x 6 ft) | 10 |
| Kayak (floor) | 8 |
Is a 10x24 shed big enough for a riding mower?
Yes. A 42 in lawn tractor (about 4.5 x 6 ft parked) fits in a 10x24 with room to walk past it. The real test is the door: you need at least 5 ft of clear opening, so check the kit's door spec before the footprint.
Not sure about your own mix of gear? The shed size calculator adds up every item's footprint, multiplies by 1.5 for aisles and reach, and names the smallest standard size that works.
What does a 10x24 shed cost?
No kit in our catalog is exactly 10x24, which is common for this size: manufacturers cluster around 6x8, 8x10 and 10x12. At the median price per square foot we measured for each material, 240 sq ft works out like this:
| Material | Low (10th pct) | Median | High (90th pct) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Resin (HDPE) | $2,880 | $4,363 | $7,184 |
| Vinyl (PVC) | $3,118 | $4,857 | $6,392 |
| Steel | $740 | $1,260 | $3,160 |
| Wood | $2,437 | $5,000 | $7,905 |
Kit prices only. Budget about $327 for a 4 in gravel pad, around 8 anchors, and fit-out on top. The shed cost calculator totals it for your material and foundation.
Kits closest to 10x24
Nearest real footprints in our catalog.
Prices change often; the button shows today's price on Amazon.
Closest kits to 10x24
| Kit | Footprint | Material | Floor | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arrow Classic Metal Shed | 12 x 17 ft | Steel | not stated | $920 |
| Aoxun 12x20x9.3FT Metal Storage Shed Outdoor Large Garage Shed | 12 x 20 ft | Steel | not stated | $1,400 |
| K Knowbody 13x20x8.3 FT Metal Garage Shed Large Building Kits | 13 x 20 ft | Steel | not stated | $1,450 |
| Arrow Shed Elite 14' x 16' Tall Outdoor Steel Storage Shed | 14 x 16 ft | Steel | not stated | $2,030 |
| Arrow Storage Products 12' x 17' Murryhill Garage Galvanized | 12 x 17 ft | Steel | not stated | $2,900 |
| Handy Home Products Fairfax 10x20 DIY Wooden Storage Shed | 10 x 20 ft | Wood | not stated | $4,518 |
What foundation does a 10x24 shed need?
Most resin and steel kits want a flat, level, well-drained base a little larger than the shed. For a 10x24, that is a 12 x 26 ft gravel pad: about 5.9 tons of crushed stone at 4 in deep, or 8.9 tons at 6 in. A 4 in concrete slab takes 3.26 cubic yards (147 bags of 80 lb mix), and a paver base takes about 142 pavers at 16 in. Full quantities and costs are on the 10x24 shed foundation page.
Does a 10x24 shed need a permit?
At 240 sq ft a 10x24 is over every common exemption, so plan on a permit. Height limits (often 10 to 12 ft at the peak), setbacks of 3 to 5 ft from property lines and HOA covenants apply at any size, and wiring always needs an electrical permit. Run your numbers through the permit size checker, then check your local code.
Sizes next to a 10x24
- 12x20 shed (240 sq ft, one step smaller)
- 14x20 shed (280 sq ft, one step larger)
- 10x10 shed (100 sq ft)
- 10x12 shed (120 sq ft)
- 10x14 shed (140 sq ft)
- 10x16 shed (160 sq ft)
- 10x18 shed (180 sq ft)
- 10x20 shed (200 sq ft)
Fit out a 10x24
Wall storage is how a small floor holds more than the table above says.
Prices change often; the button shows today's price on Amazon.
Frequently asked questions
How many square feet is a 10x24 shed?
A 10x24 shed is 240 square feet of nominal floor area. Usable floor is a little less, because kit dimensions are usually measured at the roof or outside the walls, and resin and steel walls take up floor on every side. Compare the interior dimensions in the kit's spec sheet before you commit, especially if a mower or workbench needs every inch.
Can a riding mower fit in a 10x24 shed?
Yes. A 42 in lawn tractor (about 4.5 x 6 ft parked) fits in a 10x24 with room to walk past it. The real test is the door: you need at least 5 ft of clear opening, so check the kit's door spec before the footprint.
Do I need a permit for a 10x24 shed?
At 240 sq ft a 10x24 is over every common exemption, so plan on a permit. The International Residential Code exempts one-story storage sheds up to 200 sq ft, but many towns lower that to 120 or 100 sq ft, and setbacks, easements, HOA rules and any electrical work apply at every size. Check your local code before you order the kit.
How much gravel do I need for a 10x24 shed?
With a 1 ft border on every side, a 10x24 shed sits on a 12 x 26 ft pad. At 4 in deep that is 4.24 cubic yards, about 5.9 tons of crushed stone including 10 percent for compaction. At 6 in, for soft or wet ground, order 8.9 tons. Lay weed fabric first and frame the pad with treated timber.
How much does a 10x24 shed cost?
No kit in our catalog is exactly 10x24. At the median kit prices we measured, 240 sq ft costs about $1,260 in steel, $4,363 in resin and $5,000 as a wood kit, before a foundation of about $327 in gravel.
This page is researched guidance, not professional engineering, legal or building-code advice. Sizes, loads and permit rules vary by product and by town: check your local code and the kit manufacturer's instructions before you build.








